Important facts about our 200+ Scholars Breakfast

04 May 2012 7:43 PM | Valencia Jowers (Administrator)
Since the first 200+ Scholars Breakfast on May 16, 1998, about 6,000 African American male scholars with a 3.0 or better grade point average and their parents/guardians have been honored by the Hampton Roads Committee of 200+ Men Inc. Many early honorees have completed a phase of their higher education and are now contributing in communities throughout the nation. Several have returned to Hampton Roads, joined the workforce, and have become 200+ members, "throwing back the rope" to help others.

The annual breakfast, the signature event of The 200+ Men Inc., is fortunate to receive support from several colleges and universities within and outside Hampton Roads. Some presidents or their representatives attend the breakfast and announce scholarships to some of the honorees. Since 1998, the honorees have received more than $11 million in scholarships from the Virginia colleges, universities and the Gates Foundation that partner with The 200+ Men on the breakfast.

The breakfast is not a fundraiser for The 200+ Men Inc. In fact, we steadfastly maintain the cost of the even at a level that will enable the honorees' parents/guardians and friends to attend. Arrangements can be made from extreme hardship cases.

Corporate partners, churches, voluntary organizations, 200+ member and friends generously provide various levels of breakfast sponsorships. The sponsorships cover the direct costs of the event; printing and mailings, food for the honorees and other guest, facility rental and related audio/visual support, and the speaker's honorarium, hotel, and transportation.

Over the years, breakfast attendees have heard some of the nation's premier motivational speakers. Among them are economic/networking guru George Fraser, our first breakfast speaker; William W. Sutton, Jr., then president of the National Association of Black Journalists; Dr. Belle S. Wheelan, then Virginia's secretary for education; Pulitzer Prize-winning syndicated columnist Leonard Pitts Jr.; then CNN anchor Tony Harris, who spoke in 2008 and later "plugged" the breakfast on his next broadcast. At the 12th annual breakfast in 2009, noted educator-author Dr. Dennis P. Kimbro challenged the students to think big, commit to personal excellence, and to be responsible. Dr. Freeman Hrabowski III, president of the University of Maryland, Baltimore County, was the keynote speaker in 2010. TIME Magazine named him "One of 10 Best College Presidents" in America. In 2011, Dr. Christopher Howard, the 24th president of Hampden-Sydney College, spoke.

The 15th Annual Scholars Breakfast will be held on May 19, 2012, at the Virginia Beach Convention Center in Virginia Beach, Virginia.
Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software